A Springboard for You

For a better life and a better eternity

The U-turn Epiphany

I had an epiphany the other day and have had daily reminders ever since. I have come to realize I’m really hard on myself and on other people. I’m so full of negative self-talk it is no wonder success is an uphill climb.

Just the other day I was driving in Nashville, planning to turn on to I-65 to head back down to Franklin. I was mentally sidetracked and passed my turn.

“You idiot!” 

Surely that’s what I was. Only idiots miss turns; normal people don’t do that. Life is tough for idiots like me.

Then it hit me. I’m not an idiot. I just missed my turn. All I have to do is U-turn and then I will do it right the next time. What an epiphany. It reminded me of my favorite scene in Disney’s The Kid when Russ Duritz (Bruce Willis) excitedly hollered, “I am not a loser!” I had that moment. Despite some of my friends’ repeated reminders, I am not an idiot, loser, moron or any other thing. I’m just a human who makes mistakes sometimes (sometimes frequently and repeatedly).

I can’t tell you how many times I have caught myself saying things like this since then. I publish a blog only to find a misspelled wrod and immediately castigate and berate myself. I answer a question incorrectly or fumble a sentence in a sermon and the names start internally flying. Some of you are saying, “Yeah, but Edwin, you really are an idiot.”

No, actually, I’m not. I’m just a human that makes mistakes.

Now, when I catch myself shaming myself, I remind myself. “Nope, I’m not an idiot, I just missed the turn. I’m just a human who makes mistakes. I’ll make a u-turn and just do it right on the second pass.” 

Have a great 4th of July!

ELC

July 3, 2008 - Posted by | Being human, Making Mistakes, Shame | , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. This is good stuff, Ed! I definitely think I’m the same way. Christ came because I’m not perfect….why can’t I remember that!

    I’m excited about your new blog! keep up the good work!

    Comment by eddie | July 3, 2008

  2. haha, wrod

    Comment by raequinraeraequin | July 5, 2008

  3. Edwin,
    Only idiots fail to make U-turns. No matter how far you are from where you want to be the right thing to do is turn around.

    I guess another way of saying it “Only idiots fail to repent!”

    Keep up the good work my friend.

    Comment by Clay Gentry | July 5, 2008

  4. […] The U-turn Epiphany […]

    Pingback by You can learn a lot from a knee brace « Learning from Life | July 8, 2008

  5. Love the blog. Jumped over here from Eddie’s blog (http://www.simplelifeinchrist.com/).

    Clay’s comment reminded me of an old Turkish proverb I once heard “No matter how far you have gone on the wrong road, turn back.”

    Christ gave us the “U-turn” and we would truly be idiots for not taking it.

    Keep up the good wrok. 🙂

    Comment by Bubba | July 10, 2008


Leave a Reply

